Holy Assumption Orthodox Church
OCA Diocese of the Midwest
114 E. Main Street, Marblehead, Ohio 43440
The Great Blessing of the Waters – Lake Erie

Christ is Baptized in the Jordan!  And we with Him!

Saturday, January 12, 2019 was an awesome for the community of Marblehead, Ohio!  Father Andrew Bartek, rector of Holy Assumption Orthodox Church and parishioners hosted the first annual Blessing of Lake Erie.  Despite the cold and windy day, about 50 people attended, coming from Cleveland, Fremont, Toledo, Lorain, Port Clinton, Marblehead and beyond.

Thanks to a generous donor, attendees were able to stand under cover while the Lake Blessing happened.  About 30 people took advantage of the generous spread of hot food and drinks provided by the parishioners in the parish social hall following the blessing. 

This occasion provided an opportunity to share the Orthodox Faith and teachings with those who were not familiar with the Church.  The Blessing was a feature article in the Port Clinton Herald, which can be found here

As Father Andrew said, “Today we bore witness to the Faith of Orthodoxy and Our God!”  Glory to Him!


Share This:

Weekly Liturgical & Event Schedule

Thursday, December 12
6:30 pm: Lions Christmas Party

Friday, December 13
10:00 am: Respect Life Meeting

Saturday, December 14
No Great Vespers

Sunday, December 15
9:05 am: Hours followed by Divine Liturgy / Memorial Sunday / Social

Monday, December 16
6:30 pm: Orthodoxy 101 Class

Tuesday, December 17
6:00 pm: Budget Meeting

Thursday, December 19
5:30 pm: Monthly Council Meeting

Saturday, December 21
4:00 pm: Great Vespers

Sunday, December 22
9:05 am: Hours followed by social / Change Altar Linens


Weekly Bulletin

Nov 24 & Dec 1
Section 1

Section 2